Single Pochampally Ikkat Saree

How Pochampally Sarees are made


Ikkat, A Craft That Is World Famous


Pochampally Sarees

Ikat sarees have a very long history and have been a part of India's cultural heritage since ancient times. From religious to colourful textiles, there is an abundance of these colourful pieces that come in all colours and forms. The most notable feature of these sarees is the fine nuances it displays.

There is no other technique in the modern textile world that is both ancient and contemporary. The origins of the Ikat craft are diverse and do not belong to any one region of the world. It was even used as money along the Silk Road. Despite being strongly associated with Indonesia, no historian has been able to pinpoint the exact location of origin for this craft. Ikat has spread and thrived all over the world.

In India, it became well-known as a handloom textile art form in three major states: Andhra Pradesh/Telangana, Gujarat, and Odisha. These three regions each developed their own style of ikat weaving over time, each distinct in pattern and the way the yarn is dyed and used. 

Pochampally Ikkat - How they are made 

Andhra Pradesh/ Telangana is famous for Pochampally Ikats. They were among the first to receive GI status from the traditional craft sector. Telia Rumal, which was originally woven for the headgear of Arab travellers. Telias are distinct in colour, with red, black, and white diamond and flower patterns. The craft experienced a significant decline in the late 1990s but has recently recovered due to unwavering support from handloom enthusiasts and collectors.

How Pochampally Sarees are made

Ikat is an absolutely stunning art of dying and weaving. But what is it that makes the craft so special? Is it the colours? The weaves? Or perhaps, it is the dying technique that makes this craft so famous. Whatever it may be, Ikat is a must in your wardrobe.

Which Indian states are famous for Ikkat sarees?

Ikkat saree making is currently practised in three states: Orissa, Andhra Pradesh/Telangana, and Gujarat. While the weaving styles and textures of Ikkat sarees differ slightly according to different states, they are all breathtakingly beautiful.

How many types of Ikkat are there?

There are three types of Ikkats

Single Ikkat

It is a process in which the weft or warp yarns are dyed separately.

Single Pochampally Ikkat

The second method of combined Ikat uses both warp yarns. The warp is used in various parts of the fabric here.

Double Ikkat

It is a process in which both weft and warp yarns are precisely weaved. When the threads from both axes meet each other, a beautiful pattern appears.

Next time when you buy a Pochampally Saree , don't forget to ask the state it belongs to and the technique it uses .
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.